Good beginner Mtn Bike?

Scott

Adventurist
Ok.. Budget is a major concern, but I want something decent that I can enjoy riding the trails around my house on. Gimme some brands that are good.. I'm just getting into this, so I don't really know where to start. If it matters, I'm 5'7" and 135 lbs soaking wet... I'm not real sure what size frame I would need either.

Any help is appreciated.

Any bike from Surly. Built like a tank and will last you a life time. Or until you decide to upgrade.

http://surlybikes.com/bikes

I'd look at the Pugsley, Ogre, Karate Monkey, or the Krampus.

I have the Moonlander. Check their dealer list for a local bike store near you. REI also sells Surly so you could use this as a means to check them out.

Thanks Justin! Surley makes some good stuff from the looks of it. I may hit REI today to check them out in person. I won't buy from REI for personal reasons (I don't like that they support the Sierra Club), but I can at least check one out in person...

Any bike from Surly. Built like a tank and will last you a life time. Or until you decide to upgrade.

http://surlybikes.com/bikes

I'd look at the Pugsley, Ogre, Karate Monkey, or the Krampus.

I have the Moonlander. Check their dealer list for a local bike store near you. REI also sells Surly so you could use this as a means to check them out.

Our second issue features an article on choosing the proper mountain bike. We also included a note about a pretty cool website for determining a bicycle's value when purchasing "used" in our Newswire section. You can pick-up the print version at Barnes and Noble, our website, or view the digital edition here:

http://issue2.outdoorx4.com

Our second issue features an article on choosing the proper mountain bike. We also included a note about a pretty cool website for determining a bicycle's value when purchasing "used" in our Newswire section. You can pick-up the print version at Barnes and Noble, our website, or view the digital edition here: