Warn????

verdesard0g

Adventurist
I recently called warn customer service and asked about the rating on their equipment. I asked if the stamped rating was max breaking strength or working load limit. All the guy could tell me was that whatever was stamped on the equipment was what the maximum it was designed to work at. I asked about max breaking strength and Wll he said they don't use that! WTF?
No more Warn stuff for me!

IMO breaking capacity is an average figure can be defined as the average force given to a product tested by the manufacture, my winch is a cheaper made 12,000lb winch, slow in pulling but never failed me yet but what I have spooled on the drum is 75ft of 3\8" Master Pull Classic Synthetic I believe they have a great product & their website only list the breaking strength not the working load limit. I notice this goes for other recovery gear: shackles, straps & so-on. From what I've read & understand I am no pro @ vehicle recovery, working load limit is founded on a straight line pull scenario & again this what I understand is every effort should be made to abide by this standard when rigging for vehicle recovery. BUT! in some cases this can not be done in every recovery situation so sizing up the task & assembling appropriate gear for a successful recovery.

Last edited:
There is no standard for rating vehicle recovery winches. None of them use any safety factors at all. Just look at the cable sizes compared to the rated capacity of the winches. I agree with you that its not ideal, but its the same for every brand. Warn is no worse than any other in that regard. If you won't use a particular winch for that reason, then you probably just won't use a winch at all.