Primer for A Newcomer

Stuart Rich

Adventurist
Hi:
Recently got fired up about overland travel while in Patagona and looking to learn more about buying a truck and camper. My goal is extended domestic and overseas trips with my wife with a mix of on and off roading in light to moderate 4x4 terrain I have been looking at the FWC Hawk or an eight foot Alaska Camper with a Ram 2500 Crew Cab, eight foot box, a 6.4 V8 gasser, and automatic but open to other suggestions. As a novice, I really could use a basic ABC primer on what to consider when putting together an overland rig? Any suggestions on articles, books, websites etc. would be appreciated Thanks

Welcome!

Domestic and overseas? Gas engine due to fuel availability.

The Ram is a great truck (I have one) but it and that wheelbase/8 ft bed will really limit where you can go.

I think the first thing you need to decide is really, in detail, WHERE do you want to take this rig?

Once you know that, start considering “needs” versus “wants”.

For two people, less can be more when it comes to rig and systems etc. Fast and light is where it’s at in my experience.

I agree with Dave...I've seen WAY too many people build interweb monster vehicles because they were told they couldn't make it down a dirt road without extensive modifications, then they end up hating the contraption that they built. Find the vehicle that you want, get some armor to protect the vitals and then take it out and find out what YOU need to make it do what YOU need it to do. Most out of the box 4wheel drive vehicles will get you where you need to go right out of the box.

Hi: