Outback Swags - Review

BlkWgn

Adventurist
Senior Staff
Founding Member
I have been using a Pioneer Tent from Outback Swags for a couple of months now and love it. I did a review of it for the Blog @Blkwgn_wyfee and I do at FamilyOffTheMap.com Since the review I have gotten more time with it, somewhere in the neighborhood of 20 nights. I am posting the entire blog below and will follow up with a few updates.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Swagging across the country with Outback Swags

So what is Swagging?

Swagging is to travel with one's personal belongings in a bundle, and that is what I did from New Jersey to Southern California with my Outback Swags Pioneer Tent keeping me comfortable all the way.
elderly_swagman.jpg

Photograph of a swagman, c. 1901​

Swag tents are not very common here in the US, but have a long history in the Australian outback. Swagmen were primarily transient workers who traveled the outback in search of work, carrying their shelter and belongings rolled on their backs. Traditionally the swag was little more than a bedroll.

Luckily for me, I did not have to carry my kit on my back, I had a Subaru Outback to do the work for me.

lrm_export_20160830_221139.jpg

The Subie
The mission was to pick up the car in New Jersey and see some of what the country has to offer while camping my way back to California. The Pioneer Swag was shipped to NJ where I was to fly in and meet it. I wanted to take a test run at setting it up, but it is such a simple design it really was not needed.

img_20160726_031232.jpg

First night along a creek in PA.​

The first night in the swag was a warm and humid night (as most on this trip would end up being) so it was great to be able to have the top open to allow airflow but when it started to rain in the middle of the night it was easy to just reach up and close the top. Along with the No-see-um mesh being great for ventilation it also allows great views of the stars.

outback-swag-2.jpg