MOTORBIKE vs ATV vs UTV and limiting factors.

100acre

Adventurist
Just what should it be? I've been heavily researching some sort of off-road exploration device that I can pull along with me on my exploratory trips out west. Much like a dinghy or skiff for a boat or yacht. Except this time I want to set up camp and explore areas at a leisurely pace by parking the truck and FWC, then branch out each day from Base camp. I figure to save some time, gas and wear and tear on my truck, plus access areas that my truck just cannot go. For a while I looked at dual sport motorcycles for their portability and mileage but, I wouldn't be able to bring my dog or a friend. Then I studied ATVs made by various companies, which seemed like a better deal and a much more stable platform but, still limited. I finally broadened my search and started looking at the UTV market. There are a lot of different selections makes and models so much so that the beginner shopper could be quite overwhelmed by all that is offered. Some models are for made for more recreational sport versus utility and some carry more people and gear. Most were gasoline engines but there are a few diesels out there that are offered as well. I spoke to one of my best buddies tonight who owns a couple of ATVs and motorbikes. He uses them very regularly in southern Idaho for mainly hunting and fishing. He told me that getting up in age the thumb throttle on the right hand grip of most ATVs after a while of driving starts to hurt all the way up to his elbow. Personally, having had issues in the past with carpal tunnel and minor arthritis in my hands and wrists makes me think maybe I should go with something a little bit more, well, larger and with a gas pedal instead of a "Thumb Drive". After looking at a number of the utility vehicles available today, I also learned that many of the National forests have certain restrictions even on OHV trails limiting the width of allowed ATV's. The limited width is set at 50" and gat