GEORGIA

Dave

Adventurist
Founder
Senior Staff
Editor
Crowd Sourced! Share information and ask specific questions about this state here.

This section is focused on documenting the following:
  • Adventure Opportunities & Destinations
  • Trails
  • Campsites
  • Watercraft Put-Ins/Take-Outs
  • Local Info, Highlights & Lore
  • Local Regulations & Local Insight

IMG_0280.JPG

I'm new to Atlanta. Any Off Road Jeeping activity going on in the Atlanta area?

@Gallowbraid will be one of your best sources of information on this forum for the Atlanta area.

Thanks for the pressure @bob91yj . :D

If you're looking for Jeep specific activities you should look up Georgia Jeepers. An overall good group of folks even if they don't always practice Tread Lightly. There are also a couple of Facebook groups (Alabama overland, NE Georgia Overland And Tennessee Overland) that run regular group rides.

If you're looking for a full weekend run that's a good time check out http://www.georgiaoverland.com for a route that crosses the northern part of the state from east to west (or west to east if you want). It highlights some of the favorite off road tracks in the northern part of the state including Charlie's Creek Road, Trey Mountain and the Warwoman area outside Clayton.

With most of the action being in the northern part of the state there's still some fun to be had down south, just not in Atlanta. Check out Durham Town in Union Point south east of Atlanta. It's a pay to play off road park with miles of trails and lots of events. Plenty of dirt as you head south of Newnan and down toward Florida, but it's mostly just maintained county dirt roads. Still fun though, plenty of small town squares and history down that way.

You said you're new to Atlanta, what brought you this way?