Batteries - which are good, which are not

Scott B.

Adventurist
I am about to add a second battery to my truck, and am trying to answer the age old question of which battery to buy.

Historically, I am an Optima fan. However, once Johnson Controls bought the company and moved production south of the border, quality suffered. Really suffered. It seems quality has returned with the current products, but am I willing to take a chance?

I have read some about Odyssey - some people really like them. But I have no personal experience.

I have read about Die Hard and Northstar also, but again, no personal experience.

So, thoughts, opinions and suggestions.

I had the Diehard platinum (now discontinued) and was not impressed. I decided to try out an Exide 2 years ago and am very happy with it so far, but at least in SoCal, they are hard to find. Reasonable price, good specs, and made in the US. I ordered my Group 31 from Amazon, but they seem to no longer carry them.

Optima quality may have improved, but I don't know a single upfitter willing to take the gamble and risk putting their batteries into fleet operations again. They really burned a lot of bridges when batteries starting coming in from the field balloon shaped! Oddly, Johnson Controls has USA plants as well, but took the cheap route when they bought Optima, and moved them to Mexico.

Odyssey is a USA made battery by a company called EnerSys, they have military contracts with their Hawker line, so production will remain here. They always use 100% virgin lead, and not recycled lead that has been purified. They have a great number of patents that make their batteries superior. Some folks will say that Northstar is a copy of Odyssey, but the patents that Odyssey owns assures that they are not.