2003 Tundra

jscusmcvet

Adventurist
Followed me home tonight. 2003 Tundra Limited, Access Cab, 4.7V8, 140k miles, good shape, Nitto Trail Grappler tires, hard bed cover, slide in bed liner. Stock other than that. Very nice driving comfortable truck.
Plans? Plans?! You ask??!?!??!!
I have to mount a winch. That much I know so I can still work around the property. Other than that this will be a learning experience. We will be mounting our Northstar MC 600 camper in it, so a few mods there. As far as off road capability I am leaning away from anything that will change on road driving characteristics, and focusing on small improvements where needed.... so he says... time will tell. I am new to the Toyota off road world. Many questions coming your way to be sure.

IMG_3268.JPG

IMG_3269.JPG

IMG_3270.JPG

IMG_3271.JPG

IMG_3272.JPG

IMG_3273.JPG

IMG_3274.JPG

Pic with the step removed... More better
IMG_3280.JPG

Ordered some new ubolts today for the rear axle. The weirdest thing on this truck is there are places underneath that look brand new like factory and others that are rusted pretty bad, like the ubolts. I am just going to cut them off and replace. Same will go for a few other areas, such as the bolt/spring that holds up the spare... though I might have to fab up something myself after I cut that thing off.

Pic with the step removed... More better
View attachment 32720

Ordered some new ubolts today for the rear axle. The weirdest thing on this truck is there are places underneath that look brand new like factory and others that are rusted pretty bad, like the ubolts. I am just going to cut them off and replace. Same will go for a few other areas, such as the bolt/spring that holds up the spare... though I might have to fab up something myself after I cut that thing off.

Were these part of the whole "frame rust" thing like the Tacomas? Could the frame have been cleaned at some point?