[ research ] Why do you seek adventure?

dr1665

Adventurist
One of the topics I'm most curious about exploring with Adventurist Life is adventure itself. I'd like your take on it!

If adventure is a sliding scale of "looking for trouble/challenges/obstacles," why do you seek it out? In other words, if the journey is the destination, why would you set a course for such a challenging destination?

Thanks!

I work in international bribery and corruption. My day job is dry, my family life is fairly active, but not too many surprises. I realize I should thank God and my wife for the lack of surprises in this category. I live in a 21st century Mayberry, yes we actually have annual block parties. If I don't put some challenges in my life, I'm not challenged. Who wants to live a life that doesn't involve learning new things, having experiences outside the norm, or stretching your capabilities? All of these things help to make my life fuller, and better prepared to handle surprises.

In a word, escape. I get plenty of interaction everyday with a wide variety of people but many are self-centered jackholes. I look for adventure for relaxation and to escape the jackholes. Think of the obstacles as barriers for those people. The more obstacles, whether physical barrier or something as simple as cellular service, the more likely I am to find peace. It also appears much of the good stuff to see takes some effort to get to it. As a result, when I encounter people, they tend to be like-minded reasonable people seeking the same thing as I and appreciating the same things as I. Thus, whether I am alone or at an organized event of like-minded individuals, I can escape nonetheless.

Custodians of trust
Holders of hope
Rise, Rise!
Voyage the noble quest
To arms,
To strength,
Persevere!
Darkness wins failing triumph
Live, Live!
Rejoice the victors
Our sons, our daughters
Gaze to world wroth

-Dave Lund, 2015

For the same reasons one plays a board game.