Photography Education

Sean Slavin

Adventurist
I thought I'd start a thread teaching some photography stuffs. We have a hobby that screams for photography and I'd like to help everyone get a little better at it. I want this to be open and engaging. I'll be posting one 'lesson' per week but please feel free to jump and add your own tidbits and advice. I am a Canon guy but I will be keeping this as generic as possible. You may occasionally need to translate what I say into Nikon, Sony, Fuji or your brand of choice. I am going to start basic, like really basic, and work through to topics as advanced as you would like to get. If there are specific topics you would like to cover, let me know and I will start making a list.

Before we start here's a quick blurb about my background.

I started shooting 15 years ago. I turned it into a full time business a couple of years after that. I am completely self taught. My degrees are in computer science and biology. My studio focused on weddings and family portraits but I also did freelance work for Surfer and Surfing and worked through an agency for some commercial stuff. Most of that was sold to Surfline, Quicksilver, Hurley, etc. The surf photography was for fun and my creative outlet from doing weddings every weekend. The wedding/portrait work funded the surf work. For a variety of reasons, that should be saved for a campfire discussion over beers, I had to close the studio but, I am currently exploring options for a new studio here in Denver that focuses more on high end portraits and commercial work.

With that as an introduction, how 'bout we get started?

Lesson 1: Learning to See

If you break it down, what is photography really about? At its core? It’s really about your ability to see. To really see. You need to see details, nuances, the little things that are commonly missed.