Oz tent RV-2, base camp

WashingtonTaco

Adventurist
I have a couple trips coming up in May and June this spring that are base camp trips with no day to day trip movement. I haven't had a ground tent in years. The last one I owned is now being used by my daughter. I've been eyeballing the Oz tents for a couple years and pulled the trigger last week. Today UPS delivered a bunch of packages!! I ordered the ground cover along with the rain fly for accessories. Along with that I ordered few items from Drifta in Australia. The tent bag, the bunker bag for the ground cloth and side walls when I eventually purchase them. Per Luke at Drifta I will be replacing the factory tent pegs for #20 and #30 Snow Peak pegs. By a stroke of luck Matt of Kakadu camping out of Delta BC was in Australia and was good enough to put a set of Drift tent poles and spreader bars in his shipping container for me!

IMG_1476.JPG

Last edited:
I was just watching those videos the other day. He certainly has a good looking product. I hate the tent poles I use for my tarp/awning, and he's got that super sexy Snow Peak tent peg kit.

The #30 pegs are hard to get here in the US! I ordered them on Amazon but they are shipping from Japan! At least the shipping was free. They don't arrive until the end of March. Not sure when I'll receive the Drifta polls and spreader bar, hopefully before early May. I hit the road May 11th.

Received my Drifta canvas! Well made and more room for ease of tent placement in the bag. In Luke's videos he states his bags are not water proof but about as good as it gets. Living in western Washington that didn't work well enough for me. After a few texts with Luke he agreed it wouldn't hurt to wax the canvas.

IMG_0121.JPG
IMG_0123.JPG
I don't really care for the petroleum smell of a lot of waxed canvas so I found on Amazon a wax that had no paraffins made in Portland all natural, free range, organic, gluten free and no animals harmed wax.

Last edited: