Need a New Bike. Not a beginner.

CJones

Adventurist
Well, I need a new bike. Maybe need is a strong word. I would really, really like a new bike. I am currently on a Rock Hopper from, well... let's just say it's reached geriatric status. I see all these "Good Beginner Bike" threads and I read them. But I'm not a beginner. And though I'm on an ancient relic right now I have ridden some pretty sweet bikes. I have virtually no money. I've been on craigslist looking at Cannondale, Specialized, GT, Treck, and even Chumba. Everyone seems to want way more than their bike is really worth. So onto my question.

What recommendations would you have for a bike that is light weight, HT, 29er for around 500 bucks used? I'm really looking for a good frame. Components can be upgraded later.

To be honest, if your budget is hovering around the $500 mark, most bikes you're going to find are going to be in the entry level market. Just doing a quick scan of Performance Bike's website on new 29ers, you can find some entry to mid level bikes for about $500-$600, and then upgrade the drivetrain/components later. It's a pretty far reach to look for used Trek/Specialized/Cannondale/Felt bikes in that bracket as their general pricing is in the mid to high end now. Most folks don't want to take a hit on "good" brands and the depreciation, for the lack of a better term, isn't as great. We all know that bikes depreciate just as bad as cars do.

I'd look into some of the not-as popular makes like Fuji, GT, Giant, SE, or Diamondback if that will increase the search parameters. The frames are more or less the same once you narrow down your search. Seems you need to do a little more research and up your google-fu and possibly even consider a "beginner's" bike budget if you're having trouble fitting the $500. Keep digging at craigslist and that one good deal will eventually pop up.